site hit counter
 

Charles François Daubigny's history

His childhood
Charles François Daubigny was born February 15, 1817 in Paris.  

His father, Edme-François was a painter and decorator and also enjoyed composing the occasional landscape. His uncle Pierre, Edme-François’ brother, was also an artist: draftsman, painter and miniaturist. His aunt Amélie, Pierre’s wife, was also a miniaturist. The three of them were well known for their talent and had access to exhibitions.  

The Daubigny’s were all skilled, talented and brave and though this period was lean, good spirits reigned. This family circle forged the character of little Charles-François , who, from his youngest age was in poor health. He was placed in a foster family in Valmondois, in the countryside, where he stayed until the age of 9 and it was there that he learned to love nature.  

When he returned to his parents’ house, in Paris, he attended school but as soon as he felt ill, he was kept at home. Immersed in an artistic world, his favorite hobby was to cover paper sheets with drawings. Over time, his drawings developed and he became skilled at drawing even before learning how to write. Less and less interested by school he preferred the ‘school of life’. From the age of fifteen he decorated candy boxes, jewelry boxes, clock faces and fan bases, which allowed him to provide financial support to his family. 

Père de Daubigny, Edme François - Photo d'Etienne Carjat
Daubigny's father, Edme François - Photo from Etienne Carjat 
Independence and Italy
L'Italie
Italy
At the age of 17 he decided to fend for himself. He found an accommodation which he shared with his friend Henri Mignan, also a painter. He worked in the Louvre’s restoration workshop, and then worked at restoring paintings at the Palace of Versailles. Thus he was able to set some money aside.

Just before he turned twenty he decided, along with his childhood friend, to break their common piggy-bank dedicated to finance a journey; surprised by the amount of money they had managed to set aside in a few months they decided they would be able to make their dream come true: discovering Italy.

After a rather exhausting few weeks’ journey, they finally reached Rome, and then the Italian countryside. While discovering the magnificent landscapes, Charles-François Daubigny reinforced his desire to become a landscape painter. For several months they travelled through the countryside, spent time in the Italian museums and worked relentlessly. Then the time to return arrived as the kitty had almost totally disappeared. They backpacked for two months back to Paris. During their walk back, Daubigny discovered new landscapes, more specifically mountains.

Back in Paris Charles-François Daubigny managed to live pretty well, thanks to the numerous illustrations he had made for newspapers, and even in books including textbooks. With his brother-in-law and his friend Victor Geoffroy-Dechaume, silversmith and sculptor, they created a kind of association and pooled their resources. 

The emergence of the artist
Soon after turning 20, he exhibited a painting “View of Paris and Saint-Louis Island” along with his father at the 1838 Salon. Then he started etching. Six of his works were exhibited at the Salon.
 
Although having already moved to something different from classicism thanks to his experience painting on location, Charles François Daubigny attended the School of Fine Arts and studied in Paul Delaroche’s studio, around 1841. This was in preparation for the Prix de Rome. Charles François managed to reach the final round. Unfortunately he was disqualified because of a missed administrative appointment, while having lunch with a friend...

Charles François Daubigny exhibited etchings at the 1841 and 1845 Salons, which gained him a reputation as an engraver.

In 1842, he married Marie-Sophie. Cécile, their daughter, was born one year later. The family settled in Fontainebleau and Charles François was able to work surrounded by nature. He was close to Barbizon, famous for its school, and went there often. With his friends he enjoyed installing his easel between the forest and the river. Nicknamed “the water painter”, rivers and ponds were an important part of his work and finally became the main component. He also found this atmosphere around Valmondois, so he went there more often, as it was closer to Paris, where he still had his studio.
Eau forte : Vue de Subiaco - 60 km à l'est de Rome
Etching : Subiaco view - 60 km Est of Rome
A recognized artist
La moisson - Musée d'Orsay - Paris - France
The harvest- Orsay Museum - Paris - France
In 1846, their second child Charles Pierre was born. He was nicknamed Karl, to avoid confusion with his father. 
 
In 1848 , Charles François won a second-class medal for one of his paintings exhibited at the Salon. The first class medals went to Corot and Delacroix. 
 
Then he received his first order from the government: an etching. A few years later, in 1852, as he attracted more and more attention at the Salon, the government bought two of his paintings. One of them, "The Harvest" is now at the Orsay Museum, in Paris. 
Charles François Daubigny then met Corot by chance. He knew him only through his work. The connection between the two was immediate, although Corot was 20 years older. 
 
In 1853 Charles François and Marie-Sophie had their third child, Bernard. 
 
With his several awards and medals Charles Francois saw his work becoming more and more appreciated. But it was also challenged by some critics who found the paintings to be merely “rough drafts”. 
The Studio Boat
In 1857, in order to be even closer to his subject and to the water he loved to represent, Daubigny bought a boat, which once served as a ferry : the “Botin”. He had a cabin installed, to provide shelter in case of bad weather, and if necessary to sleep. This became his Studio Boat *.

Every summer, he went to Auvers-sur-Oise, a peaceful village close to Valmondois, where he had spent part of his childhood. The Vaux Island became his main homeport. With the “Botin” he sailed on the rivers and even went up to Honfleur. Karl, the “ship’s boy” would accompany him. Then, after several stays on the “Côte Fleurie” in Normandy, he decided to return to Auvers-sur-Oise to settle.

His fame increased and Napoléon III purchased his “The Pond at Gylieu" , a canvas considered to be a genuine masterpiece. This was in 1860.

*several years later, in 1873, Monet borrowed this idea from Daubigny and had a Boat fitted out for painting. 

Le Botin, esquisse
The Botin, sketch
The first artistic centre, in Auvers-sur-Oise
La Maison-Atelier - Peinture de Léonide Bourges - Collection particulière
The Studio-House - Painted by Léonide Bourges - Private collection 
The same year (1860) Charles François Daubigny bought a piece of land in Auvers to build his “studio in the countryside”. He was more and more interested by the interplay of light.

In 1861, the first artistic centre in Auvers-sur-Oise was built. Daubigny’s Studio House became a place to meet and work. Daubigny had several students.

Then, his close friends (Oudinot, Corot, Daumier, Geoffroy Dechaume …) managed to convince him to decorate this magical place, and everyone lent a hand. Corot, project manager of the Studio decoration, decided to represent the Italian landscapes he so loved.
 
Over time, the “Botin” started taking on water, had to be retired. It ended its life in the garden, as a bar and a shelter. It was then replaced by the “Bottin”, larger and better equipped for sailing. This new boat was ready to go in 1868*. At the same time Bernard became the boy’s boat whereas Karl was promoted Captain ! 

* The scale models of both boats were built by Daubigny’s descendant, Daniel Raskin. From time to time they are exhibited in Daubigny’s Studio House. 

The new art defender, and the faithful friend
As early as 1866, Charles François Daubigny supported, along with his friend Corot, avant-garde artists, like Cézanne and Renoir. However he was not able to obtain their admission to the Salon. During this year, he travelled to London where he exhibited two paintings at the “Royal Academy”.

In 1868, Charles-François Daubigny managed to impose Monet, Pissarro, Renoir, Degas, Sisley and Berthe Morisot, angering the Commissioner for the Fine Arts. Monet and Sisley being refused for the 1869 and 1870 Salons, Daubigny, followed by his friend Corot, resigns from the board.

During the war of 1870 , Daubigny went to England. News was bad; the French artists who had taken refuge in London were in situations of hardship. By chance, Daubigny happened to meet Monet and helped him out.

Soon Pissarro found relief as well. Durand Ruel, the art dealer, managed to sell a few of his canvases. At the end of the 1870 war, Daubigny’s family returned to France staying at different locations before going back to Paris. 
The Salon, which had stopped during the War, resumed and Daubigny exhibited two canvases and sold them. After a trip in Netherlands, in 1871, he warmly welcomed Monet and Pissarro to his home, in Auvers-sur-Oise, as well as other talented people, like Cézanne who arrived in Auvers in 1872.
Claude Monet - Wikipedia
Claude Monet - Wikipedia
"Thanks to Daubigny and Durand Ruel several friends and I did not starve to death, on the London streets, in 1870: these are things we can’t forget"

     Claude MONET, in a letter to Moreau Nélaton, 1924.
The last years
La Neige, Musée d'Orsay - Paris - France
The Snow, Orsay Museum - Paris - France
During the 1873 Salon, despite heavy criticism, Daubigny was awarded the Grand Prix for his painting “The Snow”, today owned by the Orsay Museum, in Paris. Similar criticism was leveled against the impressionists, several years later. Today, Daubigny is seen as a major pioneer of the impressionist movement.

“ … let me cite another canvas by Daubigny, The Snow, which was exhibited in 1872. We could not think of anything simpler, but at the same time larger. The fields are white with snow; a path crosses through, flanked on the left and on the right by gnarled branches of apple trees. And on this white mantle, on the fields and on the trees, a flock of crows has descended, black points, standing still and twirling. The whole of winter is here, in front of us. In my life, I have never seen anything more melancholic; Daubigny’s brush, delicate rather than powerful, has acquired an exceptional strength to render the bleak view of our plains, in December”
                                                                Emile Zola

His death
Over the years, his health declined. But he continued to escape aboard the “Bottin”. Back in Auvers-sur-Oise, he bought another house, opposite the station, but would never live there. Growing more and more tired, he started a new cruise along with his two sons, towards Rouen. He returned to Auvers, close to his friends, and as they entered winter, he worked in his studio, in Paris. He died on February 19th 1878 of a heart attack. He was buried in the Père Lachaise Cemetery, in Paris, close to Corot, his friend forever. Geoffroy-Dechaume carved his bust in marble, and this sculpture still decorates Daubigny’s grave. Daumier is not far from them. They had expressed the desire of being buried close to each other, in order to be able to continue laughing together … 
"Uncle told me Daubigny is dead. This hurt me, I’m not ashamed to admit, … it must be a good thing, while dying, to be conscious of having done really good things, to know that, because of this we will remain alive in at least a few people’s memories, and to leave a good example to those who follow us"

Vincent Van GOGH, in a letter to Théo, 1878.
Caveau de Daubigny (à droite), à côté de Corot. Cimetière du Père Lachaise - Paris - France
Daubigny's vault (right hand side) , next to Corot. Père Lachaise cemtery - Paris - France

site hit counter
 

Histoire de Charles François Daubigny

Son enfance
Le 15 février 1817 Charles-François Daubigny nait à Paris.
 
Son père, Edme-François, est peintre décorateur et aime aussi brosser des paysages, à ses heures. Son oncle, Pierre, frère d’Edme-François, est aussi un artiste et exerce son talent de dessinateur, peintre et miniaturiste. Sa tante, Amélie, épouse de Pierre, est également miniaturiste. Tous trois ont suffisamment de talent pour être reconnus et avoir accès aux Salons.
 
Chez les Daubigny, habileté, talent  et courage journaliers se conjuguent. Aussi par ces temps de frugalité, la bonne humeur règne. Et ce cercle de famille formera une partie du caractère du petit Charles-François qui, dès son plus jeune âge, alors fragile de santé, est mis en nourrice à Valmondois, à la campagne, où il va rester jusqu'à l’âge de 9 ans. Il y apprendra à apprécier la nature.
 
De retour chez ses parents, à Paris, il fréquente l’école mais dès qu’il est un peu souffrant, on le garde à la maison. Baignant dans un monde artistique, sa grande distraction est de couvrir des feuilles de papiers de dessins d’enfant.  Au fil du temps, ses dessins vont s’affirmer et il devient bon dessinateur avant même de savoir bien écrire. Il délaisse petit à petit les bancs de l’école au profit de l’apprentissage par l’expérience de la vie.
Dès l’âge de quinze ans il s’affaire à  la petite décoration de boites à bonbons, coffrets à bijoux, fond de pendules et autres pieds de ventilateur, ce qui lui permet d’aider financièrement sa famille.

Père de Daubigny, Edme François - Photo d'Etienne Carjat
Père de Daubigny, Edme François - Photo d'Etienne Carjat 
L’indépendance et l’Italie
L'Italie
L'Italie
Passé dix sept ans, il décide de voler de ses propres ailes. Il trouve un logement qu’il partage avec son ami Henri Mignan, lui-même peintre. Il travaille dans les ateliers de restauration du Louvre, puis  participe à la restauration de tableaux au château de Versailles. Ainsi il peut mettre de côté un peu d’argent.
 
À l’aube de ses vingt ans il décide, avec son ami d’enfance, de casser leur tirelire commune destinée à financer un voyage; surpris de son contenu amassé pendant de nombreux mois ils vont pouvoir réaliser leur rêve : partir à la découverte de l’Italie.
 
Après un voyage plutôt éprouvant de quelques semaines, ils se retrouvent enfin à Rome, puis dans la campagne italienne. A la vue des paysages magnifiques, Charles-François Daubigny se conforte dans son envie de devenir paysagiste. Puis les mois passent à parcourir la campagne, à  fréquenter les musées italiens et à travailler sans relâche. Vient enfin le temps du retour, la cagnotte ayant quasiment totalement disparue. Il se fera à pied, bagages sur le dos, et durera deux mois. Ce sera pour lui l’occasion de découvrir de nouveaux paysages, notamment de montagne.

De retour à Paris Charles-François Daubigny vit plutôt bien des nombreuses illustrations qu’il fait dans les journaux, voire dans différents livres dont des manuels scolaires. Avec son beau-frère et son ami Victor Geoffroy-Dechaume, orfèvre et sculpteur, ils forment une sorte d’association et mettent en commun leurs ressources.

 
L’affirmation de l’Artiste
Alors qu’il a à peine plus de 20 ans, il expose une peinture « Vue de Paris et de l’Ile Saint-Louis » aux côtés de son père, au Salon de 1838. Puis il se met à la gravure et façonne ses premières eaux-fortes.  Six d’entre elles seront exposées au Salon.
 
Bien que s’étant déjà forgé une idée toute différente du classicisme par ses expériences de peinture sur le motif, Charles-François Daubigny fréquente les Beaux-arts et étudie dans l’atelier de Paul Delaroche, vers 1841. Ce dernier le prépare au concours du Prix de Rome. Charles-François parvient à être admis à la dernière épreuve. Malheureusement il  est disqualifié à cause d’un rendez-vous  administratif manqué, alors qu’il déjeunait avec un ami…
 
Charles-François Daubigny expose des eaux-fortes aux Salons de 1841 et 1845, ce qui lui permet de se faire connaître comme graveur.
 
En 1842, il épouse Marie-Sophie. Un an plus tard nait leur fille Cécile.
Ils s’installent alors à Fontainebleau et Charles-François peut maintenant travailler au cœur de la nature. Résidant à côté de Barbizon, célèbre pour son école, il peut s’y rendre souvent. Avec ses amis il aime planter son chevalet entre la forêt et les cours d’eau. Surnommé « le peintre de l’eau », étangs, rivières et bassins prennent une place importante dans ses œuvres puis en deviennent un élément primordial.

 
Retrouvant aussi cette ambiance aux alentours de Valmondois, Charles-François y vient de plus en plus souvent, car c’est plus proche de Paris, là où il a toujours son atelier. 
Eau forte : Vue de Subiaco - 60 km à l'est de Rome
Eau forte : Vue de Subiaco - 60 km à l'est de Rome
Un  Artiste reconnu
La moisson - Musée d'Orsay - Paris - France
La moisson - Musée d'Orsay - Paris - France
En 1846, vient au monde leur deuxième enfant Charles-Pierre. Il sera surnommé Karl.
 
En 1848, Charles-François reçoit une médaille de deuxième classe pour l’une de ses toiles exposées au Salon. Les médailles de première classe reviennent à Corot et Delacroix.
 
Puis il reçoit sa première commande de l’Etat : une eau-forte. Quelques années plus tard, en 1852, alors qu’il est de plus en plus remarqué au Salon, l’Etat lui achète deux toiles. L’une d’entre elles, « La Moisson », se trouve désormais au Musée d’Orsay.
 
Charles-François Daubigny fait alors fortuitement connaissance de Corot, qu’il ne connaissait que par son œuvre, et l’entente est immédiate bien que ce dernier soit de près de vingt années son aîné.
 
En 1853 Charles-François et Marie-Sophie on leur troisième enfant,  Bernard.
 
Récompensé par de nombreux prix et médailles Charles-François voit son œuvre de plus en  plus appréciée. Mais elle est aussi contestée par certains critiques qui la trouvent trop approximative.
Le Bateau-Atelier
En 1857, pour être encore plus près du motif et de l’eau qu’il aime tant représenter, Daubigny achète un bateau, qui jadis servait de bac :  le « Botin ». Il y fait aménager une cabane pour pouvoir s’y abriter et le cas échéant, y  dormir. Cela deviendra son Bateau-Atelier*.
 
Chaque été, il se rend à Auvers-sur-Oise, lieu paisible à quelques encablures de Valmondois, où il passa une partie de sa plus tendre enfance. Il fait de l’Ile de Vaux son principal port d’attache. Avec le « Botin » il parcourt les cours d’eaux et va même jusqu’à Honfleur. Karl, « le mousse », l’accompagne. Puis, après plusieurs séjours en Normandie sur la Côte Fleurie, il décide de revenir à Auvers-sur-Oise, pour s’y installer.
 
Sa notoriété s ‘affirme et Napoléon III lui achète sa toile « Etang de Gylieu »  reconnue comme pur chef-d’œuvre.  On est alors en 1860.
   
*Plusieurs années après, en 1873, Monet empruntera cette idée à Daubigny et il se fera également aménager un bateau-atelier.
Le Botin, esquisse
Le Botin, esquisse
Le premier foyer artistique d’Auvers-sur-Oise
La Maison-Atelier - Peinture de Léonide Bourges - Collection particulière
La Maison-Atelier - Peinture de Léonide Bourges - Collection particulière 
Cette même année (1860)  Charles-François Daubigny achète un terrain à Auvers pour y établir son « atelier à la campagne». Il s’intéresse de plus en plus aux jeux de lumière.
 
En 1861 le premier foyer artistique d’Auvers-sur-Oise sort de terre. La Maison-Atelier de Daubigny devient vite l’occasion de rencontres et de travail. Daubigny compte de nombreux élèves.

Aussi ses amis proches (Oudinot, Corot, Daumier, Geoffroy Dechaume …) parviennent-ils à le convaincre de décorer ce lieu magique et tout le monde s’y met. Corot, concepteur de la décoration de l’Atelier, y représentera des paysages d’Italie qu’il a aussi beaucoup aimés.

Au fil du temps le « Botin » prend de plus en plus l’eau, puis sa retraite. Il termine ses jours dans le jardin de la Maison-Atelier, comme buvette et abri. Il sera remplacé par le « Bottin », plus spacieux et mieux équipé pour la navigation. Cette nouvelle embarcation est  opérationnelle en 1868*. À ce moment Bernard devient le mousse, tandis que Karl est promu capitaine !

* Les maquettes des deux bateaux ont été confectionnées par le descendant de Charles-François, Daniel Raskin. Elles sont exposées de temps à autre à la Maison-Atelier de Daubigny

 


Le défenseur de l’art nouveau, et l’ami fidèle
Dès 1866, Charles-François Daubigny soutient - avec son ami Corot - les artistes de la nouvelle école, comme Cézanne et Renoir. Mais il ne parviendra pas à les faire admettre au Salon. Cette même année il se rend en Angleterre où il expose deux toiles à la « Royal Academy ».

En 1868, Charles-François Daubigny réussit à imposer Monet, Pissarro, Renoir, Degas, Sisley et Berthe Morisot, déclenchant la colère du surintendant des Beaux-arts. Monet et Sisley étant refusés aux Salons de 1869 et 1870, Daubigny suivi de son ami Corot démissionnent du jury.
 
Daubigny gagne l’Angleterre en 1870 pendant la guerre. Les nouvelles ne sont pas bonnes ; les artistes français réfugiés à Londres se trouvent plutôt dans la détresse. Daubigny, par chance, croise Monet et le tire d’affaire. Bientôt Pissarro trouvera lui aussi du réconfort. Le marchand d’art, Durand Ruel, parviendra en effet à vendre quelques unes de ses toiles.
 
A la fin de la guerre de 1870, la famille Daubigny regagne la France et séjourne dans différentes communes avant de rejoindre Paris.
Le Salon, suspendu pendant la guerre, reprend et Charles-François Daubigny y expose deux toiles qui y seront vendues.


Après un voyage en Hollande en 1871, il accueille Monet et Pissarro à bras ouverts dans sa maison d'Auvers-sur-Oise, ainsi que d'autres jeunes talents, comme Cézanne arrivé à Auvers en 1872.
 


Claude Monet - Wikipedia
Claude Monet - Wikipedia
"C'est grâce à Daubigny et à Durand Ruel que plusieurs amis et moi-même ne sommes pas morts de faim, sur le pavé de Londres, en 1870: ce sont des choses que l'on n'oublie pas."

     Claude MONET, lettre à Moreau-Nélaton, 1924.
Les dernières années
La Neige, Musée d'Orsay - Paris - France
La Neige, Musée d'Orsay - Paris - France
Lors du Salon en 1873 Daubigny obtient un grand prix grâce à sa toile « la Neige » aujourd’hui au Musée d’Orsay, malgré des critiques assez dures. Ces critiques font penser à celles proférées quelques années plus tard à l’encontre des Impressionnistes. Aujourd’hui, on considère Daubigny comme étant le précurseur majeur de ce mouvement qu’est l’impressionnisme.

“ …Je citerai un autre tableau de Daubigny, la Neige, qui était à l’exposition de peinture de 1872. On ne saurait rien imaginer de plus simple et en même temps de plus large. Les champs sont blancs de neige ; un chemin les traverse, bordé à droite et à gauche de pommiers aux branches noueuses. Et sur cette nappe blanche, sur les champs et sur les arbres, toute une énorme volée de corbeaux s’est abattue, des points noirs, immobiles et tournoyants. L’hiver tout entier est là devant nous. De ma vie, je n’ai rien vu de plus mélancolique ; le pinceau de Daubigny, délicat plutôt que puissant, a acquis cette fois-ci une force exceptionnelle pour rendre la vue morne de nos plaines en décembre. ”
                                                                Emile Zola

Sa disparition
Les années passant, il a des ennuis de santé. Pour autant il n’abandonne pas ses escapades à bord du « Bottin ». De retour à Auvers-sur-Oise il achète une autre maison, près de la gare, mais n’y vivra jamais.

De plus en plus fatigué, il entreprend une dernière croisière en compagnie de ses deux fils, en direction de Rouen. Il revient auprès de ses amis à Auvers et l’hiver arrivant, il travaille dans son atelier de Paris.

Pris d’un malaise cardiaque, il décède le 19 février 1878.

Enterré au cimetière du Père Lachaise à Paris, il repose auprès de Corot, son ami de toujours. Geoffroy-Dechaume sculpte dans le marbre son buste qui orne toujours sa tombe. Daumier n’est pas très loin d’eux. Ils avaient exprimé l ‘envie d’être enterrés proches les un des autres pour pouvoir continuer à rire ensemble …
"L'oncle m'a dit que Daubigny est mort. Cela m'a fait de la peine, je l'avoue sans honte,…Ce doit être une bonne chose d'avoir conscience en mourant d'avoir fait des choses vraiment bonnes, de savoir que, grâce à cela on restera vivant dans la mémoire d'au moins quelques-uns, et de laisser un bon exemple à ceux qui nous suivent."

            Vincent Van GOGH, lettre àThéo, 1878.
Caveau de Daubigny (à droite), à côté de Corot. Cimetière du Père Lachaise - Paris - France
Caveau de Daubigny (à droite), à côté de Corot. Cimetière du Père Lachaise - Paris - France